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Purpose-

This handbook is intended for individuals or private schools who are seeking approval from the
Department of Real Estate (DRE) to offer Statutory/Pre-License courses to individuals wishing to
qualify for the real estate broker or salesperson license exams and/or to offer Continuing Education
(CE) courses to California real estate licensees for the purposes of renewing their license.

DRE approves individual courses only and not course providers; however, course providers are
assigned Pre-licensing/Statutory and/or CE sponsor identification numbers upon approval of their
course(s) and each course is assigned an individual approval number.

Regulations-

The Regulations of the Real Estate Commissioner Article 24 governs the Statutory/Pre-License
courses and Article 25 governs the CE courses approved by DRE. These regulations can be found
online at DRE’s website and within DRE forms titled, Regulation Excerpts (Private Vocational
Schools) (RE 307) and Continuing Education Regulations (RE 312).
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Statutory/Pre-License Courses

General Information

Statutory/Pre-License Courses offered by private vocational schools are defined as: The
simultaneous instruction of two or more students in one of the courses enumerated in sections
10153.2, 10153.3 or 10153.4 of the Code constitutes a “private vocational school” as that term is
used in section 10153.5. These course offerings must be equivalent in quality to real estate courses
offered by colleges and universities accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges
or by any other regional accrediting body recognized by the US Department of Education.

Effective January 1, 2024, pursuant to Senate Bill 1495, all real estate practice courses must
contain the following course content:

A component on implicit bias, including education regarding the impact of implicit bias,
explicit bias, and systemic bias on consumers, the historical and social impacts of those
biases, and actionable steps students can take to recognize and address their own implicit
biases.

A component on federal and state fair housing laws as those laws apply to the practice of
real estate. The fair housing component shall include an interactive participatory
component, during which the applicant shall role play as both a consumer and real estate
professional.

Live/Classroom Courses-

Must provide at least 45 hours of classroom instruction (each hour no less than 50 minutes in
duration).

Must provide instructors, instructional material and classroom facilities adequate to achieve the
objective of the course offered.

Must have instructor(s) who has credentials issued by the Board of Governors of the California
Community Colleges or by a comparable California teacher-credentialing agency or meet the
qualifications established in Sections 53400 et seq. of Title 5. The commissioner may approve
instructors who in his or her judgment meet the qualifications, or who otherwise evidence their
teaching qualifications by education or experience or a combination of the two.

Must provide a final examination administered and supervised by the school in a classroom
setting.

Must, within 15 days of a student's successful completion of the course, deliver a course
completion certificate to the student that contains at minimum, the following information*:

o Department of Real Estate course approval number.

o Name of student.

o Coursetitle, type and credit hours. Real state practice course certificates should indicate
that the course is “Compliant with SB 1495"..

Dates of course registration and completion.

School name, address and telephone number

Print name and signature of the verifier.

Certifying Statement- Attended a minimum of 90% of the clock hours and successfully
completed the live course, and passed the final exam with a passing score of 60% or
better.

o *The school may include additional information in this document as it deems necessary.
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Must notify each student that an evaluation form is available on the Department's website
for evaluation of courses and instructors.

Must maintain records for each student sufficient to allow for the preparation of a duplicate
certificate upon request by a student. This means as long as the school is in business, the
school must furnish a certificate to the student upon request.

Correspondence Courses (Including courses presented via the internet)

Must have at least 15 separate lesson assignments.

Must provide instructors and instructional material adequate to achieve the objective of the
course offered. (Instructors need to be available for students even if the course is self-
guided).

Must have instructor(s) who has credentials issued by the Board of Governors of the
California Community Colleges or by a comparable California teacher-credentialing agency
or meet the qualifications established in Sections 53400 et seq. of Title 5. The commissioner
may approve instructors who in his or her judgment meet the qualifications, or who
otherwise evidence their teaching qualifications by education or experience or a
combination of the two.

Must provide a final examination administered and supervised by an instructor/proctor
designated by the school and the school shall send the final examination materials to the
proctor and the completed final examination shall be returned to the school by proctor. The
students are to never have the final exams sent to them nor send in the final exam to the school.
ONLY the proctor should handle this task.

Must, within 15 days of a student's successful completion of the course, deliver a course
completion certificate to the student that contains at a minimum, the following information*:

o Department of Real Estate course approval number.

o Name of student.

o Course title and hours. Real state practice course certificates should indicate that the
course is “Compliant with SB 1495".

o Dates of course registration and completion.

School name, address and telephone number

o Print name and signature of the verifier.

o Certifying Statement- Successfully completed the correspondence/home study course
and passed the final exam with a passing score of 60% or better.

o *The school may include such additional information in this document as it deems
necessary.

Must notify each student that an evaluation form is available on the Department's website
for evaluation of courses and instructors.

Must maintain records for each student sufficient to allow for the preparation of a duplicate
certificate upon request by a student. This means as long as the school is in business, the
school must furnish a certificate to the student upon request.

o
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APPLYING FOR APPROVAL OF A STATUTORY/PRE-LICENSE COURSE

The following items are required when requesting approval for a Statutory/Pre-License Course-

Completed Pre-License Course Approval Application (RE 306).

Fee- $150.

Corporation Documents, if applicable, as filed with the Secretary of State.

Fictitious Business Name Statement (FBNS), if applicable, as filed with the County Clerk’s
office.

Consent to Service of Process (RE 304), if the school is out of state.

Copies of all student instructional materials and copyright authorizations as necessary.
Pre-License Instructor Certification (RE 336) with supporting documentation.

General Information Page (RE 313 serves as a template)

Timed Course Outline.

Student Final Exam Instructions.

Exam Proctor/monitor Instructions.

Student Version of the Final Exam.

Instructor Version of the Final Exam along with corresponding answer key.

Student AND Regulator log-in and password for courses/final exams offered online.
Pre-License Course Completion Certificate (RE 311 serves as a template).

Pre-License Course Application (RE 306)

Please complete the application in full and confirm that the information on this form does not conflict
with other information in the packet. Use the information below to help guide in the complete of the
form and the packet. Please note- all signatures must be original or eSignatures. Digital or rubber-
stamp signatures will not be accepted.

APPLICATION STEP-BY-STEP

Page 1:
1A. Enter the Pre-License Sponsor number if known.

1B. Enter the Name of the Sponsor or School exactly as it will be presented to students (unless
using a FBNS).

2. Enter any other names used by the Sponsor/School (FBNS) (if any).

3. Enter the phone number of the school where students/consumers can contact the
sponsor/school.

4. Enter the address of the sponsor/school classroom facility. (If applicable).

5. Enter the mailing address of the school where students/consumers can contact the
sponsor/school.

6. Enter the email address where students/consumers can contact the sponsor/school.
7. Enter the website address for the sponsor/school. (If applicable).

8. Indicate if the sponsor/school is approved by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
(BPPE). Please visit the BPPE website (www.bppe.ca.gov) for more information on whether
your school is required to be approved by the BPPE. If your school is exempt, you must explain
why the sponsor/school is exempt (i.e. Accreditation by Western Association of Schools and
Colleges) or enter the code section by which the sponsor/school is exempt (i.e. Education Code
94874).
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9. Select the Type of Ownership for this sponsor/school. Please submit the appropriate
documentation such as: endorsed, filed Articles of Incorporation or Certificate of Registration
filed with the CA Secretary of State (SOS); or if out of state, include Certificate of Qualification
or Certificate of Status.

10. Indicate if the sponsor/school is using a Fictitious Business Name (FBNS). If yes, the FBNS
name needs be indicated and a copy of the FBNS filed with the county recorder must be
submitted.

11. Enter the Primary and Secondary contact information for those who are responsible for the
sponsor/school. Contact(s) original signature is required.

Page 2:

12. Enter the course title (remember that the course names are required to be one of the following
pursuant to B&P code 10153.2 and 10153.3:

* Real Estate Practice «  Property Management

*  Legal Aspects of Real Estate Real Estate Office Administration

* Real Estate Appraisal «  Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
* Real Estate Financing « Computer Applications in Real Estate

* Real Estate Economics »  Common Interest Developments

*  Real Estate Accounting « Advanced Real Estate Appraisal

* Business Law * Advanced Real Estate Finance

*  Escrows » Advanced Legal Aspects of Real Estate

* Real Estate Principles

13. Enter all language(s) that will be used to teach the course.

14. Enter the total number of instruction hours with a minimum of 45 hours. (Each hour no less
than 50 minutes in duration).

15A. Select if the course will be Live or Correspondence. It cannot be both, if both formats are
offered, a separate application is needed for both types. (All courses which are not presented live
are considered correspondence course including online courses.)

15B. Answer whether any portion of this course will be delivered online. If yes, indicate what
portions of the course are affected.

16. Enter all student instructional materials to be used.

17. Enter the total number or questions on the final exam and make sure that number matches
all other areas (General Information Page, exam itself, information on the website).

18. Enter the minimum score to pass the final (60% is the minimum, however it can be higher if
desired).

19. Enter the length of time given to the students to complete the exam.
20. Select how the exam is to be administered.

21. Enter the sponsor/schools method for delivering the General Information Page to the students
BEFORE they enroll in a course.

22. Explain how the location of the Course and Instructor Evaluation Form (RE 318A) form will
be delivered to the students.
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Page 3:

Complete all sections of this page (even if the Primary Contact and the Owner/Authorized
School Official are the same individual). All sections must be completed.

DOCUMENTS TO SUBMIT WITH THE STATUTORY/PRE-LICENSE
APPLICATION

Corporation Documents

A sponsor/school that is a corporation, company or partnership shall maintain good legal standing
with the California Secretary of State during any term of course approval. Therefore, with the initial
application (and as updates to the entities status occurs) a sponsor/school is required to submit the
following with each course application (even if they have or had other courses approved previously
by the DRE):

e A Domestic Corporation shall submit the filed Articles of Incorporation endorsed by the
California Secretary of State.

e A Foreign Corporation shall submit a Certificate of Qualification executed by the California
Secretary of State.

e A Company or Partnership (whether domestic or foreign) shall submit one of the following
documents, issued by the California Secretary of State: Certificate of Qualification,
Certificate of Registration, or Certificate of Good Standing.

*Please note- if a sponsor/school’s corporation, company or partnership has filed an updated/new
version of any of the above documents, it is considered an ownership change which will require
the sponsor/school to reapply for all of their courses and have a new sponsor number issued.

Fictitious Business Name Statement (FBNS)

Sponsor/schools operating under a “fictitious business name must submit with each course
application, a FBNS that has been filed with the county recorder in the county where the Sponsor
maintains their principal place of business or in Sacramento County if the Sponsor does not maintain
a place of business in California. This is required even if the sponsor/school has previously had
courses approved by DRE.

Please note that if a sponsor/school has filed an updated/new version of the FBNS that may be
considered an ownership change which could require the sponsor/school to reapply for all of their
courses and have a new sponsor number issued.

Consent to Service of Process (RE 304)

If the school/sponsor does not reside in California, a notarized Consent to Service of Process (RE
304) form must be submitted along with evidence that the entity is permitted by the California
Secretary of State is qualified to transact interstate business in the State of California.

Instructional Material

All student instructional material must be submitted. This includes the textbook*, case studies,
sample forms, slideshow printout, and/or CD/DVDs to be used in the course. Any material presented
via digital media (CD’s, DVD’s, USB Flash Drive, etc.) cannot be accessed by DRE and therefore,
a printed version of the contents must be submitted to the Department.
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Appropriate reading material of sufficient length to require the student to spend a minimum of 45
hours of study/work in order to complete the course is required. It has generally been found that
approximately 450 pages of text/instructional material is equivalent to textbooks offered by a
California college or university. All text material should be up to date.

* If using a textbook, please only submit a copy of the textbook’s cover, table of contents, and
publication page. If this book is unknown to the DRE, a copy of the textbook and certification from
a college/university professor in the real estate field is required to certify that the material is
equivalent to a college level textbook which would be used at their institution.

Effective January 1, 2024, pursuant to Senate Bill 1495, all real estate practice courses must contain
the following course content:
e A component on implicit bias, including education regarding the impact of implicit
bias, explicit bias, and systemic bias on consumers, the historical and social impacts
of those biases, and actionable steps students can take to recognize and address their
own implicit biases.
e A component on federal and state fair housing laws as those laws apply to the practice
of real estate. The fair housing component shall include an interactive participatory
component, during which the applicant shall role play as both a consumer and real
estate professional.

Copyright Authorization

If the sponsor/school is utilizing copyrighted material, a copyright authorization is required from the
copyright holder specifying that the material can be used and whom is granted authorization.

Pre-License Instructor Certification (RE 336)

The primary contact for the sponsor/school will complete all of the information on the RE 336 form
except for the instructor’s signature and the real estate license status question on the very bottom of
the form. Please note- all signatures must be original or eSignatures. Digital or rubber-stamp
signatures will not be accepted. Appropriate documentation must be submitted to substantiate the
instructor’s qualifications. (l.e. college diploma, teaching credential, resume, etc.)

All instructors must have credentials issued by the Board of Governors of the California Community
Colleges; by a comparable California teacher-credentialing agency; by meeting meet the
qualifications established in Sections 53400 et seq. of Title 5; or who otherwise evidence their
teaching qualifications by education or experience or a combination of the two.

An instructor shall not teach a course if the instructor:
(A) Does not satisfy the criteria in this subdivision.
(B) Has engaged in any violation of Article 24 (commencing with Section 3000) of these
regulations or has engaged in conduct which would have warranted the denial of an application
for approval or withdrawal of approval of an equivalent course of study.
(C) As a real estate licensee has had that license suspended, revoked or restricted as a result of
disciplinary action.
(D) Acted or conducted himself or herself in a manner which would have warranted the denial
of his or her application for a real estate license.

Pre-License General Information Page (RE 313 template)

A General Information Page (GIP) must be presented to potential students PRIOR to the student’s
registration/enrollment into the course. The GIP must present all of the course requirements.
Sponsors/schools can utilize the RE 313 to create their GIP or can create their own, making sure to
include at minimum the following information for approval:

9|Page
Rev. 01/2023



Sponsor/School name, address and phone number.

Email and website addresses.

DRE sponsor number.

Course title.

Brief description of the course. For real estate practice courses, indicate whether the course

is compliant with SB 1495.

Method of presentation of the course.

Course hours.

Dates and Location of Course (Live Course Only).

ALL fees for the course.

e Textbook/Instructional Material information.

e Refund and Cancellation policy.

e Final examination criteria- number and type of questions, allotted time, number of final
exams (2 maximum), passing score, and any additional sponsor/school policies and
procedures.

e DRE Disclaimer Statement-

This course is approved for pre-license education credit by the California Department
of Real Estate. However, this approval does not constitute an endorsement of the views
or opinions which are expressed by the course sponsor, instructors, authors, or lecturers.

e Attendance Policy.

e Statement on how proof of identity of student is determined:

o Live Course Identification Statement.
o Correspondence Course ldentification Statement.

e Online Evaluation Statement indicating how to find the Course and Instructor Evaluation
form (RE 318A).

e Course Provider Complaint Statement indicating how to find the Course Provider Complaint

form (RE 340).

Please reconcile the GIP page with the application, the course content, the final exam and (if
applicable) the website content. Many deficiencies are related to inconsistencies between these three
items.

Timed Course Outline

A complete course outline or syllabus needs to be submitted indicating the allotted time schedule
for the course and the total number of hours. The textbook’s “table of contents”, along with times
allocated for course material and final exam, may be used for this purpose.

Student Final Exam Instructions

A copy of the student’s final examination instructions need to be submitted with the application
packet. The school must provide instructions to the students explaining all final examination
requirements. This includes but is not limited to the number of questions on the final, the time
allocated, passing score, any proctoring instructions, how to proceed if they fail, etc.

Instructor Final Exam Instructions

A copy of the instructor’s final examination instructions need to be submitted with the application
packet. The school must provide instructions to the instructor explaining all final examination
requirements. This includes but is not limited to the number of questions on the final, the time
allocated, passing score, any proctoring instructions, how to proceed if a student fails, etc.
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Exam Proctor/Monitor Instructions

Final examinations for a correspondence/internet course may be administered by a proctor/monitor
designated by the Sponsor who is not related by blood, marriage, domestic partnership, or any other
relationship, i.e. future responsible broker, to the participant taking the examination which might
reasonably influence them from properly administering the exam. Proctor/Monitor Instructions must
include a certification statement, with signature field confirming that the proctor complied with all
examination rules during the administration of the examination.

The student needs to present one of the following forms of photo identification immediately before
the administration of the final examination for a correspondence/internet offering.

(a) A valid identification card described in Section 13000 of the California Vehicle Code or any
valid photo identification issued by a governmental agency.

(b) Current identification from a recognized real estate related trade organization issued within
the immediately preceding five years which bears a photograph, signature and identification
number of the participant.

Student Version of the Final Exam(s)

A student version of the final exam exactly as it is presented to the student must be submitted.

Instructor Version of the Final Exam(s)

An instructor’s version of the final exam must be submitted. The exam should be marked as
“Instructor Version” and must include the answer key with the references in the course material as
to where the answers can be located.

Log-in (Internet Only)

Any course which is offered online or offers the final examination online will have to submit two
log-ins for DRE to review the online content. A student log-in account and password AND a
regulator log-in account and password must be provided.

Student Log-in- this account acts as any other student account. It must show all course
material and final exam content exactly how a student views the material.

Regulator Log-in- this account acts as any other student account EXCEPT it should allow
the regulator reviewing the content to bypass the student study time requirements. It must show
all course information, as well as, any assessments and final exam(s) provided to the students.

Course Completion Certificate

Submit a sample of the Course Completion Certificate (RE 311) for each course. Sponsors/Schools
can utilize the template certificate RE 311 or the sponsor may create their own and at minimum must
include the following information:

e School Name, Address and Phone Number.

e Course Title and Course Type. Real state practice course certificates should indicate that
the course is “Compliant with SB 1495 .

Student Name.

Credit Hours.

Date of Registration and Date of Successful Completion.

Six-Digit Approval number.

Verifier Printed Name, Signature and Phone Number.

® © o o o
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Completion Statement:
Correspondence Statement: Successfully completed the correspondence/home study course
and passed the final exam with a passing score of 60% or better.
Live Statement: Attended a minimum of 90% of the clock hours and successfully completed
the live course, and passed the final exam with a passing score of 60% or better.
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Continuing Education Courses

General Information

Continuing Education Course approval is required pursuant to Article 2.5 commencing with
Section 10170 of Chapter 3 of Part 1 of Division 4 of the California Business and Professions
Code. The sponsor/applicant is responsible for compliance with all statutory (Business and
Professions Code) and Commissioner’s Regulation requirements. Continuing education
regulations are contained in form RE 312. Guidelines to qualify continuing education courses to
meet B&P Code Section 10153.4 and 10170.5 requirements are contained in form RE 329.

Live/Classroom Courses-

e The offering shall have a minimum of one clock hour of instruction (each hour no less than 50

minutes in duration).

e Prior to the start of the course, the sponsor shall provide students with the following disclaimer

statement:
“This course is approved for continuing education credit by the California
Department of Real Estate. However, this approval does not constitute an
endorsement of the views or opinions which are expressed by the course sponsor,
instructors, authors or lecturers.”

e Students shall be provided with a written course outline that is a narrative outline consisting of

not less than three (3) pages per credit-hour (with an average of 200 words per page).

e Students shall be physically present for at least 90% of the course. This does not include time

allocated to the administering of a final examination.

e Effective January 1, 2023, all Fair Housing courses must include an interactive participatory
component, during which the licensee shall role-play as both the consumer and real estate

professional.

e Effective January 1, 2023, a new two-hour Implicit Bias Training course is required as part of
the 45 hours of continuing education. Refer to the course guidelines for further information on

course content.

e Instructors, conference leaders, lecturers, and others who present a continuing education offering

shall meet at least one of the following qualifications:

o A bachelor's degree in a related field to that in which a person is to teach,, from a school
listed as an institution of higher learning by the U.S. Department of Education, or from

a comparable school of a foreign country.

o A valid teaching credential or certificate issued by the Board of Governors of the
California Community Colleges or by a comparable California teacher-credentialing
agency authorizing the holder to teach in the field of knowledge covered in the offering.

o Three years full-time experience in the applicable field.

o Any combination of at least three years of full-time experience and college level

education in the applicable field.

o The Commissioner may approve instructors who in his or her judgment meet the criteria
for approval or who otherwise evidence their teaching qualifications by education or

experience or a combination of the two.
e An appropriate form of final examination as required per Section 3007.3.

e Must, within 15 days of a student's successful completion of the course, deliver a course

completion certificate to the student that contains at minimum, the following information*:
o Department of Real Estate course approval number.
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Name of student and DRE License Number.

Course title and credit hours.

Course category.

Course type.

Dates of course registration and completion.

School name, address and telephone number.

Printed name and signature of the verifier.

Certifying Statement- Attended a minimum of 90% of the clock hours and successfully
completed the live course, and passed the final exam with a passing score of 70% or
better.

*The school may include such additional information in this document as it deems
necessary.

O O O O O 0O o0 O

e Must notify each student that an evaluation form is available on the Department's website

for evaluation of courses and instructors.

e Course needs to be completed by student within one year of registration
e Must maintain records for each student for 5 years for the preparation of a duplicate

certificate upon request by a student.

Correspondence/Internet Courses (Including courses presented via the internet)

The offering shall have a minimum of one clock hour of instruction (each hour no less than 50
minutes in duration).
Prior to the start of the course, the sponsor shall provide students with the following disclaimer
statement:

“This course is approved for continuing education credit by the California

Department of Real Estate. However, this approval does not constitute an

endorsement of the views or opinions which are expressed by the course sponsor,

instructors, authors or lecturers.”
Students shall be provided with a written course outline that is a narrative outline consisting of
not less than three (3) pages per credit-hour (with an average of 200 words per page).
A correspondence course offered via the internet in one or more aspects of the course offering
must have a method of control in place to protect the integrity of the exam, ensure by written
statement signed under penalty of perjury that the participant enrolled is the person completing
the course and ensure the course cannot be completed in less time than the approved credit hours
by controlling the participant's navigation through the course content.
Effective January 1, 2023, all Fair Housing courses must include an interactive participatory
component, during which the licensee shall role-play as both the consumer and real estate
professional.
Effective January 1, 2023, a new two-hour Implicit Bias Training course is required as part of
the 45 hours of continuing education. Refer to the course guidelines for further information on
course content.
Instructors, conference leaders, lecturers, and others who present a continuing education offering
shall meet at least one of the following qualifications:

o A bachelor's degree in a related field to that in which a person is to teach g, from a school
listed as an institution of higher learning by the U.S. Department of Education, or from
a comparable school of a foreign country.

o A valid teaching credential or certificate issued by the Board of Governors of the
California Community Colleges or by a comparable California teacher-credentialing
agency authorizing the holder to teach in the field of knowledge covered in the offering.

o Three years full-time experience in the applicable field.
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o Any combination of at least three years of full-time experience and college level
education in the applicable field.

o The Commissioner may approve instructors who in his or her judgment meet the criteria
for approval or who otherwise evidence their teaching qualifications by education or
experience or a combination of the two.

Incremental assessments are to be administered to measure a student's mastery of the course

content after each logical unit of instruction or chapter within a correspondence or internet
course, i.e. case studies, quizzes or other form of exercises. Remediation for the student shall be
provided after each assessment has been completed.

e An appropriate form of final examination is required per Section 3007.3.

e Must, within 15 days of a student's successful completion of the course, deliver a course
completion certificate to the student that contains at minimum, the following information*:

o Department of Real Estate course approval number.

Name of student and DRE License Number.

Course title and credit hours.

Dates of course registration and completion.

School name, address and telephone number.

Printed name and signature of the verifier.

Certifying Statement- Successfully completed the correspondence home/study course
and passed the final exam with a score of 70% or better.

*The school may include additional information in this document as it deems necessary.

O O O O O O

Must notify each student that an evaluation form is available on the Department's website
for evaluation of courses and instructors.

Course needs to be completed by student within one year of registration

Must maintain records for each student for 5 years for the preparation of a duplicate
certificate upon request by a student.

APPLYING FOR APPROVAL OF A CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE

The following items are required when requesting approval for a Continuing Education Course-

Completed CE Offering Approval Application (RE 315) —-OR- CE Offering Renewal
Application (RE 314).

Fee- $350 for 2 or less hours -OR- $500 for 3 hours or more.

Corporation Documents, if applicable.

Fictitious Business Name Statement, if applicable.

Consent to Service of Process (RE 304), if the school is out of state.

Copies of all student instructional materials and copyright authorizations as necessary.
CE Instructor Certification (RE 335) with supporting documentation.

Continuing Education General Information Page (RE 308 serves as a template).
Timed Course Outline.

Incremental Assessments with Remediation. (Correspondence/Internet Only).
Detailed Statement [Per Commissioner’s Regulation Section 3007 (h)].

Student Final Exam Instructions.

Exam Proctor/monitor Instructions.

Student Version of the Final Exam.

Instructor Version of the Final Exam along with corresponding answer key.

Student AND Regulator log-in and password for courses/final exams offered online.
CE Course Completion Certificate (RE 302 serves as a template).

Record of Attendance (RE 349) (Live Courses Only).
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CE Offering Approval Application (RE 315)

Please complete the application in full and confirm that the information on this form does not conflict
with other information in the packet. Use the information below to help guide in the complete of the
form and the packet. Please note- all signatures must be original or eSignatures. Digital or rubber-
stamp signatures will not be accepted.

APPLICATION STEP-BY-STEP

Page 1
1A. Enter the DRE Sponsor number if known.
1B. Enter the Name of the Sponsor or School exactly as it will be presented to students.

2. Enter the address of the sponsor/school classroom facility and the phone number of the school
where students/the public can contact the sponsor/school.

3. Enter the website address for the sponsor/school and enter the email address where
students/the public can contact the sponsor/school.

4. Select the Type of Ownership for this sponsor/school. Please submit the appropriate
documentation such as: endorsed, filed Articles of Incorporation or Certificate of Registration
filed with the CA Secretary of State (SOS); Or out-of-state, include Certificate of
Qualification or Certificate of Status.

5. Enter the Primary and Secondary contact information for those who are responsible for the
sponsor/school. Contact(s) original signature is required.

6A. Answer if the sponsor/school has had a CE offering approved by the DRE in the past.
6B. If yes to 6A, enter the name of the last course approved.
6C. If yes to 6A, enter the certificate number of the last course approved.

7. Enter the Course Title of the course offering.

8. Answer if the course is being offered in conjunction with any other course providers. If yes,
enter the name of the other course provider(s).

9A. Answer if the course is a one-time offering.
9B. If yes to 9A, enter date of one-time offering.
10. Enter the category of the course. (Refer to Course Guidelines form, RE 329).

Page 2

11. Enter the method of presentation for the course offering. If any component of the course is
presented over the internet, please indicate which portion and provide the company name and
website address used to present the information to the students.

Please note- if offering the course in more than one presentation format (ex. a live course
and an internet course), an application must be submitted separately for each different
method of presentation.

12. Enter the number of credit hours requested for the course (whole hours only).

13. a. If the course is a Live offering, enter the minimum attendance required by the school
(Commissioner’s Regulations require no less than 90%).
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b. Indicate if a Sign-In-Out sheet will be utilized to track attendence.

14. a. Enter the number of questions on the final examination. Please make sure this number
matches the number on the actual exam and on the General Information Page.

b. Answer if the final exam will be open or closed book.

c. Enter minimum passing for the final exam. (Commissioner’s Regulations require at least
70%).

d. Answer if an alternate final exam will be offered in the event the student fails the intial
exam. Students can only be offered one additional final examination.
15. a. Answer if the course will be presented in English.
b. Answer if the course will be presenting in any other language.
c. If yes to 15a or 15b., please indicate the language(s) offered.

16. a. Answer if you ever had denial, revocation, restriction or suspension of any course
approval, diploma certificate, credential or real estate license.

b. If yes to 16a, please provide the type of action, the date, any license or certificate number
and a summary of the circumstances.

17. Provide an explanation of how you are going to provide te the students a copy of the General
Information Page prior to enrollment/registration.

18. a. Answer if there will be an interactive participatory component for the course. (Note-
effective January 1, 2023, all Fair Housing courses must include a participatory component
where the licensee roleplays as both the consumer and the real estate professional.

b. If yes, provide details as to how the interactive participartory component will be
conducted.

19. Answer whether there will be marketing conducted inside or outside the classroom at any
point before, during or after the course, either by the sponsor or a third party. Please note that
there can be no marketing presented DURING the course. Even a display is considered
marketing.

b. If yes to 19a, please provide a thorough explaination of how any and all marketing is to
be presented and by what parties.

Page 3

Please read through the Inspection/Monitoring Procedures carefully as it provides information
on Regulations, Laws and DRE procedures related to approved course offerings.

After reading the necessary information, enter:
e An ORIGINAL signature from the Primary Contact, as well as their contact information.
-AND-

e An ORIGINAL signature of the Owner/Authorized School Official, as well as their
contact information.

*1f the Primary Contact and the Owner/Authorized School Official are the same individual,
please complete and sign both sections.
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CE Course Renewal Application (RE 314)

Please complete the application in full and confirm that the information on this form does not conflict
with other information in the packet. Use the information below to help guide in the complete of the
form and the packet. Please note- all signatures must be original or eSignatures. Digital or rubber-
stamp signatures will not be accepted.

APPLICATION STEP-BY-STEP

Page 1

COURSE INFORMATION

Enter the current eight-digit DRE Course Number, Expiration Date, Credit Hours, Category
and Course Title.

RENEWAL INFORMATION

1. Enter the School/Sponsor’s Name, Address, Business Phone Number, primary email address
of the school and the public website address of the school.

2. Select the method of presentation for the course offering. If the course is offered in more
than one format, a separate application is needed for each type.

Select if the course or any portion of the course is offered online.

4. Answer if any material changes have been made to the course since it was last approved. A
material change is a deviation from or change in curriculum, course length, workbooks, texts
or syllabi, but not including changes designed exclusively to reflect recent changes in
statutes, regulations or decisional law.

5. Answer if the final exam is administered during course hours or in addition to the hours
approved for the course. If the exam is administered during the course hours, please list the
time allotted for the final exam.

6. Answer if you use picture identification prior to admitting a student to a live course or prior
to the final exam for a correspondence or internet course. If the students are not verified by
picture 1D, explain why and explain how you confirm student identity.

7. Enter the Primary and Secondary contact information for those who are responsible for the
sponsor/school. Contact(s) original signature is required.

Please read the certification section carefully as it provides information on Regulations, Laws
and DRE procedures related to approved course offerings.

After reading the necessary information, enter an ORIGINAL signature from the Primary
Contact, as well as their contact information.
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DOCUMENTS TO SUBMIT WITH ALL CONTINUING EDUCATION
APPLICATIONS

Corporation Documents

A sponsor/school that is a corporation, company or partnership shall maintain good legal standing
with the California Secretary of State during any term of course approval. Therefore, with each
application (and as updates to the entities status occurs) a sponsor/school is required to submit the
following (even if they have or had ether courses approved previously by the DRE):

e A Domestic Corporation shall submit the filed Articles of Incorporation endorsed by the
California Secretary of State.

e A Foreign Corporation shall submit a Certificate of Qualification executed by the California
Secretary of State.

e A Company or Partnership (whether domestic or foreign) shall submit one of the following
documents, issued by the California Secretary of State: Certificate of Qualification,
Certificate of Registration, or Certificate of Good Standing.

Please note that if a sponsor/school’s corporation, company or partnership has filed an
updated/new version of any of the above documents that is considered an ownership change which
will require the sponsor/school to reapply for all of their courses and have a new sponsor number
issued.

Fictitious Business Name Statement (FBNS)

Sponsor/schools operating under a fictitious business name must submit with each course
application, even if they have or had other courses approved previously by the DRE, a Fictitious
Business Name Statement (FBNS) that has been filed with the county recorder in the county where
the Sponsor maintains their principal place of business or in Sacramento County if the Sponsor does
not maintain a place of business in California.

Please note that if a sponsor/school has filed an updated/new version of the FBNS, it may be
considered an ownership change which could require the sponsor/school to reapply for all of their
courses and have a new sponsor number issued.

Consent to Service of Process (RE 304)

If the school/sponsor does not reside in California, a notarized Consent to Service of Process (RE
304) form must be submitted along with evidence that the entity as permitted by the California
Secretary of State is qualified to transact interstate business in the State of California.

Instructional Material

All student instructional material must be submitted. This includes any textbooks, case studies,
sample forms, slideshow printout, and/or CD/DVDs to be used in the course. Any material presented
via digital media (CD’s, DVD’s, USB Flash Drive, etc.) cannot be accessed by DRE and therefore,
a printed version of the contents must be submitted to the Department.

Copyright Authorization

If the sponsor/school is utilizing copyrighted material, a copyright authorization is required from the
copyright holder specifying that the material can be used and whom is granted authorization.
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CE Instructor Certification (RE 335)

The primary contact for the sponsor/school will complete all of the information on the RE 335 form
except for the instructor’s signature and the real estate license status question on the very bottom of
the form. Please note- all signatures must be original or eSignatures. Digital or rubber-stamp
signatures will not be accepted. Appropriate documentation must be submitted to substantiate the
instructor’s qualifications. (l.e. college diploma, teaching credential, resume, etc.)

Instructors, conference leaders, lecturers, and others who present a continuing education offering
shall meet at least one of the following qualifications:

1) A bachelor's degree field to that in which a person is to teach, from a school listed as an
institution of higher learning by the U.S. Department of Education, or from a comparable
school of a foreign country.

2) A valid teaching credential or certificate issued by the Board of Governors of the California
Community Colleges or by a comparable California teacher-credentialing agency
authorizing the holder to teach in the field of knowledge covered in the offering.

3) Three years full-time experience in the applicable field.

4) Any combination of at least three years of full-time experience and college level education
in the applicable field.

5) The Commissioner may approve instructors who in his or her judgment meet the criteria for
approval or who otherwise evidence their teaching qualifications by education or experience
or a combination of the two.

An instructor shall not teach a course if the instructor:

1) Does not satisfy the criteria in this subdivision.

2) Has engaged in any violation of Article 24 (commencing with Section 3000) of these
regulations or has engaged in conduct which would have warranted the denial of an
application for approval or withdrawal of approval of an equivalent course of study.

3) As a real estate licensee has had that license suspended, revoked or restricted as a result of
disciplinary action.

4) Acted or conducted himself or herself in a manner which would have warranted the denial
of his or her application for a real estate license.

Continuing Education General Information Page (RE 308 template)

A General Information Page (GIP) must be presented to potential students PRIOR to
registration/enrollment into the course. The GIP must present all of the course requirements.
Sponsors/schools can utilize the RE 308 to create their GIP or make sure to include at minimum the
following information:
e One year registration information. (i.e.: All offerings shall be completed within one year
from the date of registration).
Sponsor/School name, address, and phone number.
Email and website addresses.
DRE sponsor number.
Course title.
Brief description of the course.
Method of presentation of the course.
Course Category.
Credit hours.
Course Dates/Location (for Live Courses Only).
ALL fees for the course.
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e Textbook/Instructional Material information.

e Refund/Cancellation Policy.

e Final examination criteria- number and type of questions, time allotted, number of final
exams (2 maximum), minimum passing score, and any sponsor/school policies and
procedures.

e DRE Disclaimer Statement-

“This course is approved for continuing education credit by the California Department
of Real Estate. However, this approval does not constitute an endorsement of the views
or opinions which are expressed by the course sponsor, instructors, authors, or
lecturers.”

e Attendance Policy.

e Statement on how proof of identity is determined:

o Live Course Identification Statement.
o Correspondence Course Identification Statement.

e Examination Regulatory Notes.

e Online Evaluation Statement indicating how to find the Course and Instructor Evaluation
form (RE 318A).

e Course Provider Complaint Statement indicating how to find the Course Provider Complaint
form (RE 340).

Please reconcile the GIP page with the application, the course content, the final exam and (if
applicable) the website content. Many deficiencies are related to inconsistencies between these
three items.

Timed Course Outline

Correspondence and/or Internet courses- A complete course outline needs to be submitted indicating
the time schedule for the course which includes each topic, subtopic, quizzes and final examination
with time for each allocated in minutes.

Live Courses- A complete course outline needs to be submitted indicating the time schedule for the
course which includes each topic, subtopic, and final examination with time for each allocated in
minutes. Additionally, a narrative outline needs to be submitted consisting of not less than 3 pages
per credit hour with an average of 200 words/page.

Incremental assessments (i.e. quizzes and answers for Correspondence/Internet Courses)

For Correspondence and/or Internet Courses only, please provide copies of the quizzes/assessments
AND answers which will be presented after each logical unit of instruction, generally after each
chapter. Include a detailed statement of how remediation will be offered to the student after each
assessment.

Detailed Statement

For Correspondence/Internet Courses only, please provide detailed statements regarding course
delivery and assessment procedures. The statements should address the methods in place to ensure
students are navigating through the course according to the specified clock hours for the course and
the method of control for protecting the integrity of the course’s examinations. Refer to Regulation
Section 3007(h).
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Student Final Exam Instructions

A copy of the student’s final examination instructions need to be submitted with the application
packet. The school must provide instructions to the students explaining all final examination
requirements. This includes but is not limited to the number of questions on the final, the time
allocated, passing score, any proctoring instructions, how to proceed if they fail, etc.

Instructor Final Exam Instructions

A copy of the instructor’s final examination instructions need to be submitted with the application
packet. The school must provide instructions to the instructor explaining all final examination
requirements. This includes but is not limited to the number of questions on the final, the time
allocated, passing score, any proctoring instructions, how to proceed if they fail, etc.

Exam Proctor/Monitor Instructions

Final examinations for a correspondence/internet course may be administered by a proctor/monitor
designated by the Sponsor who is not related by blood, marriage, domestic partnership, or any other
relationship, i.e. future responsible broker, to the participant taking the examination which might
reasonably influence them from properly administering the exam. Proctor/Monitor Instructions must
include a certification statement, with signature field confirming that the proctor complied with all
examination rules during the administration of the examination.

The student needs to present one of the following forms of photo identification immediately before
the administration of the final examination for a correspondence/internet offering.

A valid identification card described in Section 13000 of the California Vehicle Code or any
valid photo identification issued by a governmental agency. - OR -

Current identification from a recognized real estate related trade organization issued within the
immediately preceding five years which bears a photograph, signature and identification number
of the participant.

Student Version of the Final Exam(s)

A student version of the final exam exactly as it is presented to the student needs to be submitted.
The exam should be marked “Student Version”.

Instructor Version of the Final Exam(s)

An instructor’s version of the final exam needs to be submitted. The exam should be marked as
“Instructor Version” and needs to include the answer key with the references in the course material
where the answers can be located.

Log-in (Internet Only)

Any course which is offered online or offers the final examination online will have to submit two
log-ins for DRE to review the online content. A student log-in account and password AND a
regulator log-in account and password must be provided.

Student Log-in- this account acts as any other student account. It must show all course
material and final exam content exactly how a student views the material.

Regulator Log-in- this account acts as any other student account EXCEPT it should allow
the regulator reviewing the content to bypass the student study time requirements. It must
show all course information, as well as, any assessments and final exam(s) provided to the
students.
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Course Completion Certificate

Submit a sample of the Course Completion Certificate (RE 311) for each course. The RE 311 is a
template certificate that can be used or the sponsor may create their own, but the certificate must
include the following items to be approved:

e School Name, Address and Phone Number.
e Course Title and Course Category.
e Student Name and DRE License Number.
e Credit Hours.
e Date of Registration and Date of Successful Completion.
e Eight-Digit Approval number.
e Verifier Name, Signature and Phone Number.
e Completion Statement:
Correspondence Statement: Successfully completed the correspondence/home study
course and passed the final exam with a passing score of 70% or better.

Live Statement: Attended a minimum of 90% of the clock hours and successfully
completed the live course, and passed the final exam with a passing score of 70% or
better.

Record of Attendance (RE 349) (Live Courses Only)

A sample copy of a Record of Attendance for the course needs to be submitted only for courses
which are offered live. Students must attend 90% of the clock hours for the course in order to
qualify for credit. The RE 349 can be utilized, however the sponsor may create their own. The
Record of Attendance must include the following items to be approved:
e School Name and DRE Four-digit Sponsor Number
Course Title and Credit Hours
Student Names and DRE License Number
Times In and Out
Printed Name of the Monitor/Instructor
Signature of the Monitor/Instructor
Date of the Class
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		34				Pages->19		Guideline 3.2 Make Web pages appear and operate in predictable ways		Header/Footer pagination artifacts		Passed		Page 20 does not contain header Artifacts.		Verification result set by user.

		35				Pages->20		Guideline 3.2 Make Web pages appear and operate in predictable ways		Header/Footer pagination artifacts		Passed		Page 21 does not contain header Artifacts.		Verification result set by user.

		36				Pages->21		Guideline 3.2 Make Web pages appear and operate in predictable ways		Header/Footer pagination artifacts		Passed		Page 22 does not contain header Artifacts.		Verification result set by user.

		37				Pages->22		Guideline 3.2 Make Web pages appear and operate in predictable ways		Header/Footer pagination artifacts		Passed		Page 23 does not contain header Artifacts.		Verification result set by user.

		38						Guideline 3.2 Make Web pages appear and operate in predictable ways		Change of context		Passed		No actions are triggered when any element receives focus		

		39						Guideline 1.1 Provide text alternatives for all non-text content		Alternative Representation for Formulas		Not Applicable		No Formula tags were detected in this document.		

		40						Guideline 1.1 Provide text alternatives for all non-text content		Alternative Representation for Links		Not Applicable		No Link annotations were detected in document.		

		41						Guideline 1.1 Provide text alternatives for all non-text content		Alternative Representation for Forms		Not Applicable		No Form Fields were detected in this document.		

		42						Guideline 1.1 Provide text alternatives for all non-text content		Alternative Representation for Other Annotations		Not Applicable		No other annotations were detected in this document.		

		43						Guideline 1.2 Provide synchronized alternatives for multimedia.		Captions 		Not Applicable		No multimedia elements were detected in this document.		

		44						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Form Annotations - Valid Tagging		Not Applicable		No Form Annotations were detected in this document.		

		45						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Link Annotations		Not Applicable		No tagged Link annotations were detected in this document.		

		46						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Links		Not Applicable		No Link tags were detected in this document.		

		47						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Other Annotations - Valid Tagging		Not Applicable		No Annotations (other than Links and Widgets) were detected in this document.		

		48						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		RP, RT and RB - Valid Parent		Not Applicable		No RP, RB or RT elements were detected in this document.		

		49						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Correct Structure - Ruby		Not Applicable		No Ruby elements were detected in this document.		

		50						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Table Cells		Not Applicable		No Table Data Cell or Header Cell elements were detected in this document.		

		51						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		THead, TBody and TFoot		Not Applicable		No THead, TFoot, or TBody elements were detected in this document.		

		52						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Table Rows		Not Applicable		No Table Row elements were detected in this document.		

		53						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Table		Not Applicable		No Table elements were detected in this document.		

		54						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Correct Structure - Warichu		Not Applicable		No Warichu elements were detected in this document.		

		55						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Correct Structure - WT and WP		Not Applicable		No WP or WT elements were detected in the document		

		56						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Header Cells		Not Applicable		No tables were detected in this document.		

		57						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Summary attribute		Not Applicable		No Table elements were detected in the document.		

		58						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Scope attribute		Not Applicable		No TH elements were detected in this document.		

		59						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Article Threads		Not Applicable		No Article threads were detected in the document		

		60						Guideline 1.3 Create content that can be presented in different ways		Tabs Key		Not Applicable		Document does not have annotations		

		61						Guideline 1.4 Make it easier for users to see and hear content including separating foreground from background.		Images of text - OCR		Not Applicable		No raster-based images were detected in this document.		

		62						Guideline 2.1 Make all functionality operable via a keyboard interface		Server-side image maps		Not Applicable		No Link annotations were detected in this document.		

		63						Guideline 2.2 Provide users enough time to read and use content		Timing Adjustable		Not Applicable		No elements that could require a timed response found in this document.		

		64						Guideline 2.3 Do not design content in a way that is known to cause seizures		Three Flashes or Below Threshold		Not Applicable		No elements that could cause flicker were detected in this document.		

		65						Guideline 3.3 Help users avoid and correct mistakes		Required fields		Not Applicable		No Form Fields were detected in this document.		

		66						Guideline 3.3 Help users avoid and correct mistakes		Form fields value validation		Not Applicable		No form fields that may require validation detected in this document.		

		67						Guideline 4.1 Maximize compatibility with current and future user agents, including assistive technologies		4.1.2 Name, Role, Value		Not Applicable		No user interface components were detected in this document.		
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